Get a Quote
MINISTERJI.COM - Increase Your Social Visibility

Rashtriya Janata Dal [ RJD ]

Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD), English National People’s Party, regional political party in Bihar state, eastern India. It also had a presence in national politics in New Delhi.The mass base of the party has traditionally been Yadavs and Muslims, two large and relatively politically active segments of Bihar's population. In 2008, RJD received the status of recognized national level party following its performance in north-eastern states.RJD was derecognised as a national party on 30 July 2010.Rashtriya Janata Dal locates itself in the collective aspirations of people and communities striving to carve out a society based on the premises of social justice and secularism. Since its inception Rashtriya Janata Dal is relentlessly working as the voice of the socially and economically downtrodden sections of the society.


In view of the unwavering commitment to the values of equality, social justice as also to contest the growing communal posturing of certain political formations, Rashtriya Janata Dal came into being on 5th July 1997.The RJD’s first test nationally was relatively successful, when it won 17 seats in the March 1998 Lok Sabha elections. In elections to that chamber a year and a half later, however, it could retain only 7 members. Yadav himself lost his seat to Sharad Yadav (no relation), head of the Janata Dal (United) party, or JD(U), one of the successors to the original Janata Dal.On 5 July 1997, Lalu Prasad Yadav, Raghuvansh Prasad Singh, Kanti Singh along with seventeen Lok Sabha MPs and eight Rajya Sabha MPs along with supporters gathered at New Delhi formed the new political party, Rashtriya Janata Dal. It was formed as breakaway of Janata Dal. Lalu Prasad was elected as the first president of Rashtriya Janata Dal.


In Indian general election, 2014 RJD came back to UPA and contested election in alliance with Indian National Congress and Nationalist Congress Party in Bihar. Out of 40 seats in Bihar, RJD will contest on 27 seats, INC on 12 and NCP on one. The eldest daughter of Lalu Prasad Yadav, Misa Bharti and his wife Rabri Devi contested from Patliputra and Saran respectively but both lost in election.In Indian general election, 2009, the Rashtriya Janata Dal broke its alliance from UPA when seat sharing talks failed. RJD formed its alliance with Ram Vilas Paswan’s Lok Janshakti Party and Mulayam Singh Yadav’s Samajwadi Party what the media has dubbed the “Fourth Front”. Rashtriya Janata Dal performed poorly and won just four seats, all of them in Bihar. However, in 2010 Assembly election, the RJD did not continue their alliance with Samajwadi Party.


The Election Symbol of RJD, as approved by the Election Commission, is a hurricane lamp. There is immense significance attached to the symbol. The hurricane lamp is symbolic of light, of enlightenment, of literacy and of progress. This symbol is representative of the RJD to be the voice of the marginalized labourers, peasants, farmers and working sections of the society.RJD, as a political party in India has a very strong support in the state of Bihar. It has been continuously evolving in the vanguard to speak for an egalitarian society committed to progressive and secular outlook in governance as well as everyday life. As of now Sh. Lalu Prasad is the national president whereas Dr. Ramchandra Purve is the State President. The leaders of opposition are Md Abdul Bari Siddqui in the legislative assembly and Shri Ghulam Gauss is in the legislative council.


Contact Details

Official Website of RJD-

Head-Office Address of RJD- 13, V.P. House Rafi Marg, New Delhi-110001

Contact Numbers- PHONE: 011 - 23357182

Email id:



Shri Taslim Uddin

MP candidate in RJD - Rashtriya Janata Dal

Gender: Male, DOB: 4/1/1943


Shri Shailesh (Bulo Mandal) Kumar

MP candidate in RJD - Rashtriya Janata Dal

Gender: Male, DOB: 6/5/1975

Display Records


ministerji-1-Narendra-Damodardas-Modi.png Narendra Damodardas Modi

Minister House C-1 Someshwar Tenament, Ranip, Ahmedabad, Gujarat - 382 480

ministerji-2-Rahul-Ghandi.jpg Rahul Ghandi

Minister House New Delhi, India

ministerji-3-Arbind-Kejriwal.jpg Arbind Kejriwal

Minister House 3rd, Level, A-Wing, Delhi Secretariat, I.P. Estate, New Delhi

ministerji-5-Mamata-Bnerji.jpg Mamata Bnerji

Minister House C-4, M.S. Flats, B.K.S. Marg, New Delhi - 110 001

ministerji-13-Akhilesh-Singh-Yadav.png Akhilesh Singh Yadav

Minister House C-1/36, Pandara Park,New Delhi - 110 011