Get a Quote
MINISTERJI.COM - Increase Your Social Visibility

Indian Union Muslim League [ IUML ]

Indian Union Muslim League is the only Muslim organization that maintains consistent presence in the Indian Parliament all along its history.Indian Union Muslim League (IUML) is a regional political party recognized by the Election Commission of India which has prominent presence in the state of Kerala. The IUML is commonly called the Muslim League Kerala State Committee (MLKSC), as its mass base is  primarily from northern Kerala. In the year 1948, the party formed its root in the land of Madras. From 1952 , till acquired seats in the Parliament.In the year 1960, the party stepped to make an alliance government in Kerala along with the Praja socialist party and the Indian National Congress.


During the beginning of seventies, IUML had Ministers in West Bengal leading a contingent of seven MLAs in the state assembly. Late A. K. A. Hassanussaman was the league representative during the ministry of Ajoy Mukherjee. Apart from Kerala and West Bengal, IUML had MLAs in Tamil Nadu, Pondicherry, Maharastra, Karanataka, UP, and Assam and there were members in Delhi Metropolitan Council and Mayors in various Municipal Corporations in India.


A particular bunch of Muslims in Kerala are sometimes regarded as the supporters of Indian Union Muslim League. The leadership line of the group and the party comes from the Thangal family line  who are Yemeni Arab origins. The present supreme leader of the group, "Panakkad Sayed Hyderali Shihab Thangal" and is the president of Kerala state unit of Indian Union Muslim League.The mass population of E. K. Sunnis, the largest faction among the Muslims of Kerala in terms of number of followers, always support Indian Union Muslim League.[1] The supreme leader of E. K. Sunnis, Panakkad Sayed Hyderali Shihab Thangal, is the president of Kerala state unit of Indian Union Muslim League. This unofficial support is cause of the repeating election victories of Indian Union Muslim League candidates from Muslim dense districts.


After the 1970 elections Achyutha Menon became elected Chief Minister for the second time. Members of the governing coalition were Indian National Congress, IUML, RSP and PSP. The Menon government lasted until the downfall of the Indira Gandhi regime in 1977 (no state elections were held in this period). In the chaos that followed the IUML leader C.H. Mohammed Koya held the post of Chief Minister in 1979.


After the death of Panakkad Sayeed Mohammedali Shihab Thangal on August 1, 2009, his brother Panakkad Sayed Hyderali Shihab Thangal was appointed as the President of the Kerala state committee of the party. Actually the driven force or the master mind behind the political strength of kerala state Muslim league is the general secretary of the party Pandi Kadavath Kunjalikutty.The U.P.State Committee President of I.U.M.L. is Mr.Kausar Hayat Khan.


At present the Muslim League Kerala State Committee is the second largest political outfit in Kerala, after the Congress. It is in alliance with the ruling Congress-led United Democratic Front (UDF). It has five ministers in the present UDF government in Kerala. The President of the party is Panakkad Sayed Hyderali Shihab Thangal, after his brother Panakkad Sayed Mohammadali Shihab Thangal, former president of the IUML died in 2009. 


The Election Symbol of the Muslim League Kerala State Committee, as approved by the Election Commission of India, is “Ladder”. A ladder is a simple wooden tool, which is used to climb up heights, facilitating easy movement. The MLKSC, in its political ideology, operates like a ladder which helps in carrying forward the cause of the Muslim community and other backward sections of the society. By upholding the Constitution of India, the League ensures that it bridges the gap between the past and the present, in order to achieve peace, prosperity and dignity in the lives of Muslims.


Address and Contact Details

Official Website of MLKSC -

Head-Office Address of MLKSC: League House, R.C. Road, Kozhikkode, Kerala- 32

Phone No: 0495-2365969

Fax: 0495-2366090

Email id:

Display Records


ministerji-1-Narendra-Damodardas-Modi.png Narendra Damodardas Modi

Minister House C-1 Someshwar Tenament, Ranip, Ahmedabad, Gujarat - 382 480

ministerji-2-Rahul-Ghandi.jpg Rahul Ghandi

Minister House New Delhi, India

ministerji-3-Arbind-Kejriwal.jpg Arbind Kejriwal

Minister House 3rd, Level, A-Wing, Delhi Secretariat, I.P. Estate, New Delhi

ministerji-5-Mamata-Bnerji.jpg Mamata Bnerji

Minister House C-4, M.S. Flats, B.K.S. Marg, New Delhi - 110 001

ministerji-13-Akhilesh-Singh-Yadav.png Akhilesh Singh Yadav

Minister House C-1/36, Pandara Park,New Delhi - 110 011