Get a Quote
MINISTERJI.COM - Increase Your Social Visibility

Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam [ DMK ]

Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (DMK) (English: Dravidian Progress Federation) is a state political party in the states of Tamil Nadu and Puducherry in India.Dravidian tribe of the rights of the defense, to set atikkamarra society, Dravidian munnerrakkalakattai (DMK) on 17 September 1949 began arinaranna. Timukalakat rationalist movement in the state's history, the history of the Renaissance movement. Tamil language and Tamil culture and a political movement to protect and improve the collection of the perattankal.


The devastation of ideology occurred at last and the party is running towards gaining power and economy. In 1969, Karunanidhi became the party leader. Since 4 decades, he is ruling the party. In August 1944, Periyar created the 'Dravidar Kazhagham' out of the Justice Party and the Self-Respect Movement at the Salem Provincial Conference. Dravidar Kazhagam, conceived as a movement and not a political party, insisted on an independent nation for Dravidians called Dravida Nadu consisting of areas that were covered under Madras Presidency.


The DMK was strongly anti-Brahmin, anti-North and anti-Aryan— southern Brahmins and North Indians being seen as Aryans, all other South Indians as Dravidas. It raised the slogan of opposition to the cultural, economic and political domination of the South by the North. Naicker and others had earlier in 1938 organized a movement against the decision of the Congress ministry to introduce Hindi in Madras schools, labelling it to be an aspect of Brahmanical North Indian cultural domination. DMK also decided to oppose what it described as expansion of Hindi ‘imperialism’ in the South. Its main demand, however, was for a homeland for the Dravidas in the form of a separate independent South Indian state—Dravidnadu or Dravidasthan— consisting of Tamil Nadu, Andhra, Karnataka and Kerala.


In 1971 election, the DMK fought in alliance with Congress (Indira)and the Opposition alliance which consisted of the two Senior National Leaders, Rajaji and Kamarajar was termed as a strong alliance and was widely supported by Media to re-capture power in Tamil Nadu. However, the DMK emerged victorious with a vast majority of 184 seats out of 234 and Dr. Kalaignar M. Karunanidhi becoming the chief minister for second time. The Opposition Grand alliance could capture only 25 seats.Tamilnadu ruled under DMK for the period of 1996-2001. Then AIDMK came under ruling. DMK and Congress cluster won in the year 2004. 2009 general election also won by DMK Congress alliance. DMK negotiated with congress for more central positions and beneficial departments. After a long debate, A. Raja got a place in the central, who lobbied for telecom minister as per the tapes of Nira Radia.


1991 election was held on the backdrop of DMK government dissolved within 2 years of formation due to pressure from Rajiv gandhi, in the same year Rajiv was killed by Human bomb during election campaign. Due to DMK's pro Tamil stance and the dismissal of the state government mid way by Rajiv, people persumption was against DMK and the sympathy wave in favour of AIADMK–Congress alliance and the DMK was deprived of any seats in the Parliament.


The Election Symbol of the DMK, as approved by the Election Commission of India, is the "Rising Sun" with the sun rising between two mountains. This symbol is very significant as people in Tamil Nadu and Puducherry immediately connect with the symbol. In fact, there is a English weekly by the name 'The Rising Sun' made available in the state of Tamil Nadu


Contact Details 

Official Website of DMK: 

Head-Office Address of DMK: 'Anna Arivalayam', 367-369, Annasalai, Teynampet,

 Chennai - 600 018 

Email id:

Display Records


ministerji-1-Narendra-Damodardas-Modi.png Narendra Damodardas Modi

Minister House C-1 Someshwar Tenament, Ranip, Ahmedabad, Gujarat - 382 480

ministerji-2-Rahul-Ghandi.jpg Rahul Ghandi

Minister House New Delhi, India

ministerji-3-Arbind-Kejriwal.jpg Arbind Kejriwal

Minister House 3rd, Level, A-Wing, Delhi Secretariat, I.P. Estate, New Delhi

ministerji-5-Mamata-Bnerji.jpg Mamata Bnerji

Minister House C-4, M.S. Flats, B.K.S. Marg, New Delhi - 110 001

ministerji-13-Akhilesh-Singh-Yadav.png Akhilesh Singh Yadav

Minister House C-1/36, Pandara Park,New Delhi - 110 011