Get a Quote
MINISTERJI.COM - Increase Your Social Visibility

Mizoram People's Conference [ MPC ]

Mizoram People's Conference, a regional political party in Mizoram, India. MPC was formed by Brig Thenphunga Sailo on April 17, 1975. Sailo is the party chairman and was the Chief Minister of Mizoram from 1979 to 1984. Thenphunga was an army officer and then a Human rights Activist before starting his Political Party.Mizoram Peoples Conference is a minor political party in the Indian state of Mizoram having limited presence in this northeastern state of India. The followers of the party are not numerous as its impact has not till touched the grass root level of the Mizo society. The MPC was organized in 1970s by the eminent and excellent politician of Mizoram Brig. T. Balu in order to bring about an all round development of the state and its large numbers of under developed and backward population.


Following the MPC's defeat in 1984, it was the main opposition party for the next 2 decades. In the 1998 assembly elections, it won 12 seats. However, in the 2003 elections, the party won only 3 seats, and fell to 2 seats in the 2008 elections. The MPC is still the third largest party in Mizoram, but is far surpassed by its rivals, the Mizo National Front and Indian National Congress.


MPC strives to do away with every form of suppression from the state and the Mizo community. It was able to form a Government which put more importance to the needs of the people of Mizoram than the party and party members itself. The party fought against every form of social evil and enhanced the working of any organization that augmented the growth of the state.It gave special importance to the Mizo people in job opportunities and elsewhere as they belonged to Scheduled tribes category, as suggested by the constitution of India. It also provided special provisions for women and disabled section of the population to ensure overall improvement of the state’s economy.


In 1986 a peace agreement was signed between the government of India and MNF.  Mizoram was created as a separate state within India, and Pu Laldenga became Chief Minister.  However in 1989, MNF lost the first elections following the peace agreement.


Former guerrilla leader Pu Zoramthanga became party leader following the death of Laldenga in 1990.  In 1998 and 2003 MNF won the state assembly elections, and Pu Zoramthanga is currently chief minister.  In the 2003 elections MNF won 21 out of 40 seats in the state assembly, and got 132 505 votes (31,66%).


Headquarters: Treasury Square, Aizawl, Mizoram.

Display Records


ministerji-1-Narendra-Damodardas-Modi.png Narendra Damodardas Modi

Minister House C-1 Someshwar Tenament, Ranip, Ahmedabad, Gujarat - 382 480

ministerji-2-Rahul-Ghandi.jpg Rahul Ghandi

Minister House New Delhi, India

ministerji-3-Arbind-Kejriwal.jpg Arbind Kejriwal

Minister House 3rd, Level, A-Wing, Delhi Secretariat, I.P. Estate, New Delhi

ministerji-5-Mamata-Bnerji.jpg Mamata Bnerji

Minister House C-4, M.S. Flats, B.K.S. Marg, New Delhi - 110 001

ministerji-13-Akhilesh-Singh-Yadav.png Akhilesh Singh Yadav

Minister House C-1/36, Pandara Park,New Delhi - 110 011